10 minute exercise!

So I went to an AIGA lecture featuring Mig Reyes, and he did these projects where he gave himself 15 minutes to make something, anything. I feel like since I am graduating, and I am no longer being FORCED to make work, I need to keep challenging myself to keep DOING things. How else am I going to get better?

I decided to follow this idea and challenge myself to design anything in 10 minutes one in awhile after I graduate.

here’s the first one:

I got my student portfolio reviewed today and this was kind of how I was feeling after my last 2 reviews because I was slightly distressed over the fact that they didn’t consider toy design to be graphic design? Which I didn’t understand. I think anything can be design, if you design it… like how I designed (the way they look and their patterns) and produced my stuffed animals. I mean don’t we all get tired of the same old ad/branding projects? I was just trying something new, a side project…. I mean the first three reviewers liked the idea and gave me constructive criticism. *Not that these other two reviewers didn’t! I don’t mean that at all! It was all very helpful and good to hear, and get a fresh persepctive. The main thing I didn’t understand was them saying that it didn’t really belong in my book, because it’s not straight up GRAPHIC design? Just confused me a little. As the image says, I believe that design is anything AND everything. Just wanted to say my thoughts. The event was a great experience and totally worth it!

off to do more things that aren’t “graphic” design. weee.

(btw the image is totally meant to be playful and not offensive in any way)

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

